Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is primarily concerned with adjudicating on applications for Research Grants and on applications from students for Summer Research Scholarships. To cover the breadth of topics submitted, the committee is relatively large to ensure it has representatives from all the major sub-disciplines of medical research.


Chair: Professor Greg Jones,

Deputy Chair: Associate Professor Heather Cunliffe (Co-opted)

Associate Professor Hesham Al-Sallami (Co-opted)

Associate Professor Stephanie Woodley (Nominee Otago Medical School Research Society)

Dr Sierra Beck (Nominee Dunedin School of Medicine, December 2018)

Associate Professor Chris Brown (Co-opted)

Dr Cathy Chapple (Co-opted)

Dr Nick Heng (Co-opted)

Associate Professor Keith Ireton (Co-opted)

Associate Professor Rajesh Katare (Nominee of the Otago School of Biomedical Sciences)

Associate Professor Ivan Sammut (Co-opted)

Professor Rob Walker (Co-opted)

Associate Professor Joanna Williams (Co-opted)

Dr Stephanie Woodley (Nominee Otago Medical School Research Society)


Associate Professor Heather Cunliffe kindly agreed to accept the position of Deputy Chair of the Scientific Committee from March 2019.  The term of her appointment will align with that of the current Chair.